Tag Archives: UofL

New Chairman Joins Mechanical Engineering

After serving an impressive twenty years as M.E. Department Chairman at UofL, Prof. Glen Prater stepped down as chairman this past summer. As one can imagine, he made many notable contributions to academic life in the Speed School; most recently he helped ushered the M.E. program through another successful six-year accreditation and he was instrumental in developing the department’s on-site Masters program at the G.E. Appliance Park (to name just two things). Dr. Prater will continue teaching and conducting research in the M.E. Department. Thank you Dr. Prater!

Dr. Kevin Murphy, Chairman of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Kevin Murphy, Chairman of Mechanical Engineering

After a national search, the M.E. Department and the Speed School have hired Prof. Kevin Murphy to serve as the new chairman. Prior to joining UofL, Dr. Murphy was a tenured, associate professor at the University of Connecticut, where he had served as the director of graduate studies and then as associate chairman. He earned his B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics from the University of Michigan and his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Duke University. His research focuses on nonlinear vibrations, stability, and solid mechanics. But his work also touches on acoustics, signal processing, and fracture mechanics. In particular, he has worked on vibration based structural health monitoring (SHM), adhesion/sticking contact in MEMS devices, and vibrations in manufacturing problems. Dr. Murphy has been awarded a number of competitive federal grants in support of his research program, including a National Science Foundation CAREER Award. He has also received several awards for distinguished teaching, in addition to being recognized by both branches of the Connecticut State Legislature for teaching excellence.

Welcome to the University of Louisville Dr. Murphy.